Imoca Bureau Vallée
Louis Burton

Louis Burton

BUREAU VALLÉE
4th participation

Profile

Born near Paris, this adopted Malouin loves speed, on water as well as on shore. Collaboration, courage and self-sacrifice are at the heart of his values. On the water, Louis likes the tough options and never gives up. Beyond the competition, he uses his project to raise awareness of the fragility of the marine environment among new generations. Accompanied for the past 13 years by his loyal partner Bureau Vallée and his co-sponsors, Louis achieved a very fine 3rd place in the last Vendée Globe. His goal for 2024? To do even better!

Achievements

2023

  • Retour à la Base

    7th
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    16th
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    9th

2022

  • Route du Rhum

    Abandon
  • Vendée Arctique - Les Sables d'Olonne

    5th
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    3rd

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon
  • Défi Azimut

    4th
  • The Ocean Race Europe

    5th

2020

  • Vendée Globe

    3rd (80d 10h 25m 12s)

2019

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    10th
  • Défi Azimut

    10th
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    4th

2018

  • Route du Rhum

    Abandon
  • Monaco Globe series

    8th
  • Bermudes 1000 race

    Abandon

2017

  • Vendée Globe

    7th

2015

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    9th

2014

  • Route Du Rhum

    5th

2013

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    5th

2012

  • Vendée Globe

    Abandon

2011

  • Transat B to B

    7th
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    7th

2010

  • Route du Rhum

    20th
Imoca Bureau Vallée

BUREAU VALLÉE

  • Former names : L'Occitane en Provence
  • Architect : Sam Manuard
  • Construction : Black Pepper Yachts
  • Launch date : 31 Janvier 2020
  • Lenght : 18,28 m
  • Beam : 5,5 m
  • Draught : 4,50 m
  • Weight : 7,8 tonnes
  • Mast height : 28 m
  • Upwind sail area : 270 m2
  • Downwind sail area : 535 m2

Bureau Vallée is a concept that combines proximity, innovation and digital technology to offer, through its 400 shops, a complete range of stationery, supplies, office equipment, furniture, high-tech and services. The Bureau Vallée brand is proud to offer professional and private customers optimal value for money. The franchise network is developing in France and internationally with more than 25 openings per year, while deploying a retail and digital strategy in a multi-channel logic. Bureau Vallée has been a partner of Louis for over 13 years.

Commitment

For the past 10 years, Louis Burton has been visiting schools and students all over France. His aim is not only to share his passion for the ocean and ocean racing, but also to raise awareness among the younger generation of the fragility of the marine environment and the need to protect its ecosystem. From these long-standing relationships with numerous schools, the "I'm discovering the world of the oceans with Louis Burton" educational kit was created. The tool, designed in collaboration with teachers 5 years ago, offers free and fun resources for all elementary classes. It allows pupils to study the world of the sea by linking it to the entire school curriculum.

Imoca Bureau Vallée
Louis Burton

Louis Burton

BUREAU VALLÉE
4ème participation
Classement
32e
Statut
Distance parcourue en milles nautiques (1 mille ≈ 1,852 km)
16 792 nm

Portrait

Né en région parisienne, le malouin d'adoption aime la vitesse, sur l’eau comme sur terre. La collaboration, le courage et l’abnégation sont au cœur de ses valeurs. Sur l’eau, Louis aime les options musclées et ne renonce jamais. Au-delà de la compétition, il s’appuie sur son projet pour sensibiliser les nouvelles générations à la fragilité du milieu marin. Accompagné depuis 13 ans par son fidèle partenaire Bureau Vallée et ses co-sponsors, Louis a décroché une très belle 3e place sur le dernier Vendée Globe. Son objectif en 2024 ? Faire encore mieux ! 

Palmarès

2023

  • Retour à la Base - 7e

    7e
  • Transat Jacques Vabre - 16e

    16e
  • Rolex Fastnet Race - 9e

    9e

2022

  • Route du Rhum - Abandon

  • Vendée Arctique - 5e

    5e
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race - 3e

    3e

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre - Abandon

  • Défi Azimut - 4e

    4e
  • The Ocean Race Europe - 5e

    5e

2020

  • Vendée Globe - 3e (80j 10h 25m 12s)

    3e

2019

  • Transat Jacques Vabre - 10e

    10e
  • Défi Azimut - 10e

    10e
  • Rolex Fastnet Race - 4e

    4e

2018

  • Route du Rhum - Abandon

  • Monaco Globe series - 8e

    8e
  • Bermudes 1000 race - Abandon

2017

  • Vendée Globe - 7e

    7e

2015

  • Transat Jacques Vabre - 9e

    9e

2014

  • Route Du Rhum - 5e

    5e

2013

  • Transat Jacques Vabre - 5e

    5e

2012

  • Vendée Globe - Abandon

2011

  • Transat B to B - 7e

    7e
  • Transat Jacques Vabre - 7e

    7e

2010

  • Route du Rhum – 20e

Imoca Bureau Vallée

BUREAU VALLÉE

  • Anciens noms du bateau : L'Occitane en Provence
  • Architecte : Sam Manuard
  • Chantier : Black Pepper Yachts
  • Date de lancement : 31 Janvier 2020
  • Longueur : 18,28 m
  • Largeur : 5,5 m
  • Tirant d'eau : 4,50 m
  • Poids : 7,8 tonnes
  • Hauteur mât : 28 m
  • Surface de voiles au près : 270 m2
  • Surface de voiles au portant : 535 m2

Bureau Vallée est un concept alliant proximité, innovation et digital pour proposer, via ses 400 magasins, une offre complète en papeterie, fournitures, équipement de bureau, mobilier, high-tech et services. L’enseigne Bureau Vallée est fière de proposer à ses clients professionnels et particuliers, un rapport qualité prix optimal. Le réseau de franchises se développe en France et à l’international avec plus de 25 ouvertures par an, tout en déployant une stratégie retail et digitale dans une logique multicanale. Bureau Vallée accompagne Louis depuis plus de 13 ans.  

Son engagement

Depuis 10 ans, Louis Burton va à la rencontre des écoles et des élèves aux quatre coins de la France. Son objectif est non seulement de partager sa passion pour l’océan et la course au large, mais aussi de sensibiliser les nouvelles générations à la fragilité du milieu marin et à la nécessité de lutter pour la préservation de son écosystème. De cette relation privilégiée et pérenne avec de nombreuses écoles est née, naturellement, le kit pédagogique « Je découvre le monde des océans avec Louis Burton ». L’outil, conçu en collaboration avec des enseignants il y a 5 ans, offre des ressources gratuites et ludiques pour toutes les classes élémentaires. Il permet aux élèves d’étudier le monde de la mer en le reliant au programme scolaire dans sa globalité.