Imoca Devenir
Violette Dorange

Violette Dorange

DeVenir
1st participation

Profile

A hard-working and dynamic sailor, Violette Dorange has been sailing since she was very young, and has completed all the stages in her bid to take part in the 2024 Vendée Globe: the French dinghy sailing team, crossings of the English Channel and the Straits of Gibraltar in an Optimist, a solo Atlantic crossing in a Mini 6.50 and participation in three editions of the Solitaire du Figaro, the antechamber to the Vendée Globe, where she finished in 10th place in 2022. A result that confirms her desire to go even further and push back the horizon to set off around the world. That's why, at just 22 years old, Violette is launching her Vendée Globe project after acquiring Jean Le Cam's boat, now called DeVenir.

Achievements

2023

  • Retour à la Base

    23th
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    21th
  • Défi Azimut

    13th

2022

  • Sardinha Cup (Figaro)

    4th
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    10th

2021

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    19th
  • Transat en Double Figaro

    9th

2020

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    30th

2019

  • Mini Transat

    16th

2018

  • 420 World Youth Open Championships

    3rd

2017

  • 420 World Youth Open Championships

    2nd
  • 420 France Youth Open Championships

    1st

2016

  • 420 World Youth Open Championships

    3rd
  • 420 France Youth Open Championships

    1st
Imoca Devenir

DeVenir

  • Former names : FONCIA, TC2, MOVISTAR, MAPFRE, Maître CoQ, Mare, Cheminées Poujoulat, Hubert, Finistère Mer Vent, Yes We Cam
  • Architect : Farr Yacht Design
  • Construction : CDK, Port-la-Forêt
  • Launch date : 29 Mai 2007
  • Lenght : 18,28 m
  • Beam : 5,90 m
  • Draught : 4,5 m
  • Weight : 8 t
  • Mast height : 29 m
  • Upwind sail area : 300 m2
  • Downwind sail area : 620 m2

DeVenir is a sporting and social project involving a number of partners. These historic partners have been joined by France's leading youth recruiter: McDonald's restaurants. More than 130 McDonald's establishments have joined DeVenir, with the aim of giving restaurant team members an incredible adventure, promoting the values of the project and solving problems of integration through original communication.

Commitment

Over and above a sporting project, Violette wanted to add a social dimension to this adventure: her Vendée Globe project, called DeVenir, supports the Apprentis d'Auteuil Foundation, which Violette is supporting by giving hope to young people looking to build their future. Today, a group of McDonald's restaurants, 130 in all, are supporting the DeVenir project, taking on board their team members and managers to work alongside Violette, and in this way, together with the Apprentis d'Auteuil Foundation, promoting the integration and training of young people in difficulty.

Imoca Devenir
Violette Dorange

Violette Dorange

DeVenir
1ère participation
Classement
39e
Statut
Distance parcourue en milles nautiques (1 mille ≈ 1,852 km)
13 379 nm

Portrait

Pressée et dynamique, la charentaise Violette Dorange navigue depuis son plus jeune âge et a franchi toutes les étapes pour espérer participer au Vendée Globe : équipe de France de voile légère, traversées de la Manche et du Détroit de Gibraltar en Optimist, Mini Transat et participation à trois éditions de la Solitaire du Figaro, antichambre du Vendée Globe, où elle termine à la 10e place en 2022. Un résultat qui la conforte dans son envie d’aller encore plus loin et de repousser l’horizon pour partir autour du monde. C’est pourquoi à tout juste 22 ans, Violette lance son projet Vendée Globe après avoir fait l’acquisition du bateau de Jean Le Cam, appelé désormais DeVenir.

Palmarès

2023

  • Retour à la Base

    23e
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    21e
  • Défi Azimut

    13e

2022

  • Sardinha Cup (Figaro)

    4e
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    10e

2021

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    19e
  • Transat en Double Figaro

    9e

2020

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    30e

2019

  • Mini Transat

    16e

2018

  • Championnats du Monde Jeunes Open 420

    3e

2017

  • Championnats du Monde Jeunes Open 420

    2e
  • Championnat de France Open 420

    Vainqueur

2016

  • Championnats du Monde Jeunes Open 420

    3e
  • Championnat de France Open 420

    Vainqueur
Imoca Devenir

DeVenir

  • Anciens noms du bateau : FONCIA, TC2, MOVISTAR, MAPFRE, Maître CoQ, Mare, Cheminées Poujoulat, Hubert, Finistère Mer Vent, Yes We Cam
  • Architecte : Farr Yacht Design
  • Chantier : CDK, Port-la-Forêt
  • Date de lancement : 29 Mai 2007
  • Longueur : 18,28 m
  • Largeur : 5,90 m
  • Tirant d'eau : 4,5 m
  • Poids : 8 t
  • Hauteur mât : 29 m
  • Surface de voiles au près : 300 m2
  • Surface de voiles au portant : 620 m2

DeVenir est un projet sportif et sociétal, dans lequel sont engagés de nombreux partenaires. Des partenaires historiques rejoints par le premier recruteur de la jeunesse en France : les restaurants McDonald’s. Plus de 130 établissements McDonald’s, ont pris part au projet DeVenir avec pour objectifs de faire vivre aux équipiers des restaurants une aventure incroyable, de porter les valeurs du projet et de résoudre les problèmes d’insertion au travers d’une communication originale. 

Son engagement

Au-delà d’un projet sportif, Violette souhaite apporter un volet social à cette aventure : son projet Vendée Globe, nommé DeVenir, soutient la Fondation Apprentis d'Auteuil, dont Violette est la marraine, en donnant de l'espoir aux jeunes qui cherchent à construire leur avenir. Aujourd’hui, un collectif de franchisés McDonald’s, soit plus de 130 restaurants, soutient le projet DeVenir pour embarquer ses équipiers et ses managers auprès de Violette, et ainsi favoriser, avec la Fondation Apprentis d’Auteuil, l’insertion et la formation de jeunes en difficulté.