Generation 2024 boat
Imoca Biotherm en navigation
Paul Meilhat portrait

Paul Meilhat

Biotherm
2nd participation

Profile

Between the lakes of the Paris region where he was born and the coast of Brittany, Paul Meilhat began sailing at a very early age, first in a dinghy and then in a Figaro. In the space of a dozen years, he became one of the most prominent racers of his generation. He has had some powerful experiences: resounding successes but also setbacks, when he was rescued by helicopter off the Azores or when he abandoned the 2016 Vendée Globe in the middle of the Pacific. After a few years as a top co-skipper with Charlie Dalin and Sam Davies, he launched his own project. At the helm of the IMOCA Biotherm, he will be setting off on his 2nd Vendée Globe.

Achievements

2023

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon
  • The Ocean Race

    4th

2022

  • Route du Rhum

    6th
  • Défi Azimut

    Abandon

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    2nd
  • Défi Azimut

    1st
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    1st

2019

  • Défi Azimut

  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    5th

2018

  • Route du Rhum

    1st
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    1st

2017

  • Armen Race - 1st

    1st
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    1st
  • Défi Azimut

    1st
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    2nd

2016

  • Transat New York Vendée - Les Sables d'Olonne

    4th
  • Vendée Globe

    Abandon
  • Defi Azimut

    4th

2015

  • Record SNSM

    1st
  • Ar Men Race

    1st
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon

2014

  • La Solitaire du Figaro

    5th
  • Transat AG2R (Figaro)

    1st

2013

  • Solo Concarneau (Figaro)

    1st
  • Tour de Bretagne

    1st

2012

  • Transat AG2R (Figaro)

    4th
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    9th

2011

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    6th

2009

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    19th

2000

  • French Junior Laser Espoir Championship

    Winner
Imoca Biotherm en navigation

Biotherm

  • Architect : Guillaume Verdier
  • Construction : 2022, Persico Marine
  • Launch date : 31 Août 2022
  • Lenght : 18,28 m
  • Beam : 5,4 m
  • Draught : 4,5 m
  • Weight : 8 t
  • Mast height : 29 m
  • Upwind sail area : 260 m2
  • Downwind sail area : 600 m2

Founded on the discovery of the regenerative properties of Plankton of Life, Biotherm, an expert skincare brand, takes its effectiveness from bioscience with highly effective and sensorial formulas, for a visibly full of life skin. Coming from the water, the brand takes action to protect aquatic biodiversity with its Water Lovers programme. It has joined forces with Paul Meilhat and the Tara Océan Foundation to conduct a research programme aboard the IMOCA Biotherm. « Bio » means life, « Therm » means source. Biotherm is committed to being the source of a better life for skin, body, mind and ocean.

Commitment

Paul Meilhat has never compromised on his strong social and environmental convictions, which he has always defended as hard as his position on the sporting chessboard. Since 2010, he has been taking concrete action with the Surfrider Foundation, initiating the Echappée Bleue operation and continuing his commitment as a Water Lover to the scientific study of the oceans alongside Biotherm in partnership with the Tara Ocean Foundation.

Generation 2024 boat
Imoca Biotherm en navigation
Paul Meilhat portrait

Paul Meilhat

Biotherm
2ème participation

Portrait

Entre les plans d’eau de la région parisienne où il est né et les côtes bretonnes, Paul Meilhat commence à naviguer très tôt, d’abord en dériveur puis en Figaro. En une douzaine d’années, il devient un des coureurs les plus en vue de sa génération. Il va connaître des expériences fortes : des succès retentissants mais aussi des revers, lorsqu’il est hélitreuillé au large des Açores ou lorsqu’il abandonne le Vendée Globe 2016 en plein Pacifique. Après quelques années comme co-skipper de luxe avec Charlie Dalin et Sam Davies, il lance son propre projet. À la barre de l'IMOCA Biotherm, il prendra le départ de son 2e Vendée Globe. 

Palmarès

2023

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon
  • The Ocean Race

    4e

2022

  • Route du Rhum

    6e
  • Défi Azimut

    Abandon

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    2e
  • Défi Azimut

    Vainqueur
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    Vainqueur

2019

  • Défi Azimut

    7e
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    5e

2018

  • Route du Rhum Destination Guadeloupe

    Vainqueur
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    Vainqueur

2017

  • Armen Race

    Vainqueur
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    Vainqueur
  • Défi Azimut

    Vainqueur
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    2e

2016

  • Transat New York Vendée - Les Sables d'OIonne

    4e
  • Vendée Globe

    Abandon
  • Defi Azimut

    4e

2015

  • Record SNSM

    Vainqueur
  • Ar Men Race

    Vainqueur
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon

2014

  • La Solitaire du Figaro

    5e
  • Transat AG2R (Figaro)

    Vainqueur

2013

  • Solo Concarneau (Figaro)

    Vainqueur
  • Tour de Bretagne (Figaro)

    Vainqueur

2012

  • Transat AG2R

    4e
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    9e

2011

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    6e

2009

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    19e

2000

  • Championnat de France Espoir Laser Junior

    Vainqueur
Imoca Biotherm en navigation

Biotherm

  • Architecte : Guillaume Verdier
  • Chantier : 2022, Persico Marine
  • Date de lancement : 31 Août 2022
  • Longueur : 18,28 m
  • Largeur : 5,4 m
  • Tirant d'eau : 4,5 m
  • Poids : 8 t
  • Hauteur mât : 29 m
  • Surface de voiles au près : 260 m2
  • Surface de voiles au portant : 600 m2

Fondée sur la découverte des propriétés régénératives du Plancton de Vie, Biotherm, marque experte de soin de la peau, tire son efficacité de la bioscience avec des formules hautement efficaces et sensorielles, pour une peau visiblement pleine de vie. Venant de l'eau, la marque agit pour la protection de la biodiversité aquatique avec son programme Water Lovers. Elle s’associe avec Paul Meilhat et la Fondation Tara Océan pour mener un programme de recherche à bord de l’IMOCA Biotherm. « Bio » signifie vie, « Therm » signifie source. Biotherm s’engage à être la source d'une vie meilleure pour la peau, le corps, l'esprit et l'océan. 

Son engagement

Paul Meilhat n’a jamais transigé avec des convictions sociétales et environnementales fortes qu’il a toujours défendues aussi dur que sa place sur l’échiquier sportif. Depuis 2010, il mène des actions concrètes au sein de Surfrider Foundation, est à l’initiative de l’opération Echappée Bleue et poursuit son engagement de Water Lover dans l’étude scientifique des océans aux côtés de Biotherm en partenariat avec la Fondation Tara Ocean.