Imoca D'Ieteren Group
VAN WEYNBERGH Denis

Denis Van Weynbergh

D'IETEREN GROUP
1st participation

Profile

Denis Van Weynbergh, a former SME CEO, decided in 2018 to set sail for the Vendée Globe. He then became the owner of his IMOCA, but due to a lack of budget, he had to give up. Tenacious, he rethought and redesigned his project in 2020: he conceived it as a collaborative and associative project, favouring short circuits and reusing equipment rather than buying new parts. From 2021, he launched himself into the IMOCA circuit to gain experience and miles in order to validate his participation in the Vendée Globe and become the first Belgian to complete this round-the-world race.

Achievements

2023

  • Retour à la Base

    30th
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    32th
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    27th

2022

  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    21st
  • Vendée Arctique

    abandon

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    19th

2019

  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    18th
  • Bermudes 1000

    17th

2013

  • Transat Jacques Vabre - Class40

    16th

2012

  • Transat Québec Saint Malo - Class40

    19th

2011

  • Les Sables Horta Les Sables - Class40

    12th
  • Record SNSM - Class40

    8th

2010

  • La Route du Rhum - Class40

    39th

2009

  • Record SNSM Class40

    9th

2001

  • Mini Transat

    24th
Imoca D'Ieteren Group

D'IETEREN GROUP

  • Former names : Spirit Of Hungary, Laboratoire de Biarritz
  • Architect : Nándor Fa & Attila Déry - Hungary
  • Construction : 2013, Pauger Carbon Ltd, Hongrie
  • Launch date : 07 Avril 2014
  • Lenght : 18,28 m
  • Beam : 5,65 m
  • Draught : 4,5 m
  • Mast height : 29 m

Founded in 1805 and headquartered in Brussels, D'Ieteren Group is a family-owned, listed company. It invests in companies that are or have the potential to become leaders in their markets and to generate sustainable value for their employees, their customers, society at large and their shareholders. Its international portfolio currently includes 6 companies: Belron (parent company of Carglass), PHE (parent company of, among others, Autodistribution and Oscaro), Moleskine, D'Ieteren Automotive, TVH and D'Ieteren Immo.

Commitment

For his next challenge, the Vendée Globe 2024, Denis Van Weynbergh will become the ambassador of the new D'Ieteren Group sponsorship programme, which starts in June 2023 and whose mission will be to promote access to a stimulating and fulfilling professional life.

Imoca D'Ieteren Group
VAN WEYNBERGH Denis

Denis Van Weynbergh

D'IETEREN GROUP
1ère participation
Classement
17e
Statut
Distance parcourue en milles nautiques (1 mille ≈ 1,852 km)
19 091 nm

Portrait

Denis Van Weynbergh, ancien patron de PME, décide en 2018 de mettre cap sur le Vendée Globe. Il devient alors propriétaire de son IMOCA mais par faute de budget, il doit renoncer. Tenace, il repense et refonde son projet en 2020 : il le conçoit collaboratif et associatif, privilégie les circuits courts et réutilise le matériel plutôt que l'achat de pièces neuves. Dès 2021, il se lance dans le circuit IMOCA pour engranger de l'expérience et des milles afin de valider sa participation au Vendée Globe et devenir le premier Belge à boucler ce tour du monde. 

Palmarès

2023

  • Défi Azimut

    27e
  • Retour à la Base

    30e
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    32e
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    27e

2022

  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    21e
  • Vendée Arctique - Les Sables d'Olonne

    abandon

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    19e

2019

  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    18e
  • Bermudes 1000

    17e

2013

  • Transat Jacques Vabre - Class40

    16e

2012

  • Transat Québec Saint Malo - Class40

    19e

2011

  • Les Sables Horta Les Sables - Class40

    12e
  • Record SNSM - Class40

    8e

2010

  • La Route du Rhum - La Banque Postale - Class40

    39e

2009

  • Record SNSM - Class40

    9e

2001

  • Mini Transat

    24e
Imoca D'Ieteren Group

D'IETEREN GROUP

  • Anciens noms du bateau : Spirit Of Hungary, Laboratoire de Biarritz
  • Architecte : Nándor Fa & Attila Déry - Hungary
  • Chantier : 2013, Pauger Carbon Ltd, Hongrie
  • Date de lancement : 07 Avril 2014
  • Longueur : 18,28 m
  • Largeur : 5,65 m
  • Tirant d'eau : 4,5 m
  • Hauteur mât : 29 m

Fondée en 1805 et basée à Bruxelles, D’Ieteren Group est une société familiale cotée en bourse. Elle investit dans des entreprises qui sont ou ont le potentiel de devenir leader dans leur marché et de générer de la valeur durable pour leurs collaborateurs, leurs clients, la société au sens large et leurs actionnaires. Son portefeuille international compte aujourd’hui 6 entreprises : Belron (maison mère de Carglass), PHE (maison mère, entre autres, d’Autodistribution et d’Oscaro), Moleskine, D’Ieteren Automotive, TVH et D’Ieteren Immo. 

Son engagement

Pour son prochain défi le Vendée Globe 2024, Denis Van Weynbergh deviendra l’ambassadeur du nouveau programme de mécénat de D’Ieteren Group qui démarre au mois de juin 2023 et dont la mission sera de favoriser l’accès à une vie professionnelle stimulante et épanouissante.