Generation 2024 boat
Imoca For People
Thomas Ruyant

Thomas Ruyant

FOR PEOPLE
3rd participation

Profile

Born in the Hauts-de-France area, Thomas Ruyant is a specialist in transatlantic races: he has won the Mini-Transat, the Route du Rhum twice, the Transat AG2R, as well as the Transat Jacques Vabre! Thomas is a sailor in the strictest sense of the term. He really comes into his sporting own offshore and over a long period of time. 2024 should be his 3rd Vendée Globe. In 2016, he heroically abandoned the round-the-world race aboard Souffle du Nord after suffering major damage off New Zealand, and finished the 2020 edition in 6th place after often sailing in the top 3. Thomas' motto is to give meaning to his performances, which he does with the collective We Sail For People and Planet.

Achievements

2023

  • Retour à la Base

    17th
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    1st
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    1st

2022

  • Route du Rhum

    1st
  • Défi Azimut

    2nd
  • Vendée Arctique - Les Sables d'Olonne

    3rd
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    Abandon

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    1st
  • Défi Azimut

    3rd
  • The Ocean Race Europe

    3rd

2020

  • Vendée Globe

    6th (80d15h 22m 01s)
  • Défi Azimut

    9th
  • Vendée Arctique - Les Sables d'Olonne

    3rd

2019

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    5th
  • Défi Azimut

    16th

2018

  • Transat AG2R (Figaro)

    1st

2016

  • Vendée Globe

    Abandon

2015

  • Transat St Barth - Port La Forêt (Figaro)

    Abandon
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    4th
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    4th

2013

  • Rolex Fastnet Race (Class40)

    4th
  • Transat Jacques Vabre (Class40)

    Abandon
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    25th
  • Tour de Bretagne à la voile (Figaro)

    4th

2012

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    16th

2011

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon
  • Solo Les Sables (Figaro)

    6th
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    21th

2010

  • Record SNSM

    Winner
  • Route du Rhum (Class40)

    1st
  • Normandy Channel Race (Class40)

    1st

2009

  • Mini Transat

    1st
  • Tour de France à la Voile (Farr30)

    1st
Imoca For People

FOR PEOPLE

  • Architect : Antoine Koch et Finot-Conq
  • Construction : 2022, CDK Technologies
  • Launch date : 16 Mars 2023
  • Lenght : 18,28 m
  • Draught : 4,50 m
  • Mast height : 29 m

Advens is a leading French cybersecurity company. With its independence and more than 400 experts in France and Europe, it helps companies to prevent and neutralise cyber attacks. But that's not its only vocation: Advens wants to have an impact on the world. It is building a committed business model that allows it to dedicate 50% of the Advens group's capital to the development and acceleration of initiatives that aim to have a large-scale impact on people and the planet. 

Leyton is a world reference in financial consulting. Its mission, Empower your future, is to sustainably accelerate everyone's performance in order to build a more responsible world.

Commitment

We Sail for People and Planet is a collective of committed people, working together around two boats, For People and For the Planet, and two skippers, Thomas Ruyant and Sam Goodchild. Its aim is to harness the power of top-level sport to accelerate concrete, high-potential social and environmental programmes. 

Association Entourage 
 
Entourage is an association with a start-up spirit, serving people and caring for 'living together'. In France today, over 2 million people live in extreme poverty and are excluded from society, and 330,000 people are homeless. Entourage helps these people to break out of their isolation and rediscover a support network. To do this, the association raises awareness and encourages civil society as a whole to take action: local residents, businesses, etc., because it is convinced that everyone is part of the solution to the problem of exclusion. Entourage believes in the magical power of meeting people and worlds that seem to oppose each other!

Generation 2024 boat
Imoca For People
Thomas Ruyant

Thomas Ruyant

FOR PEOPLE
3ème participation

Portrait

Né dans les Hauts-de-France, Thomas Ruyant est un grand spécialiste des transatlantiques : il a remporté la Mini-Transat, la Route du Rhum à deux reprises, la Transat AG2R, ainsi que la Transat Jacques Vabre ! Thomas est un marin au sens strict du terme. Il se révèle sportivement dès qu’il est au large et sur une longue période. 2024 devrait être son 3e Vendée Globe. En 2016, il abandonne héroïquement le tour du monde à bord de Souffle du Nord après une avarie majeure au large de la Nouvelle-Zélande et termine l'édition 2020 à la 6e place après avoir navigué très souvent dans le top 3. Thomas a pour leitmotiv de donner du sens à ses performances, ce qu’il fait avec le collectif We Sail For People and Planet. 

Palmarès

2023

  • Retour à la Base

    17e
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    1er
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    1e

2022

  • Route du Rhum

    1er
  • Défi Azimut

    2e
  • Vendée Arctique - Les Sables d'Olonne

    3e
  • Guyader Bermudes 1000 Race

    Abandon

2021

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    1e
  • Défi Azimut

    3e
  • The Ocean Race Europe

    3e

2020

  • Vendée Globe

    6e (80j 15h 22m 01s)
  • Défi Azimut

    9e
  • Vendée Arctique - Les Sables d'Olonne

    3e

2019

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    5e
  • Défi Azimut

    16e

2018

  • Transat AG2R (Figaro)

    1er

2016

  • Vendée Globe

    Abandon

2015

  • Transat St Barth - Port La Forêt (Figaro)

    Abandon
  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    4e
  • Rolex Fastnet Race

    4e

2013

  • Rolex Fastnet Race (Class40)

    4e
  • Transat Jacques Vabre (Class40)

    Abandon
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    25e
  • Tour de Bretagne à la voile (Figaro)

    4e

2012

  • Solitaire du Figaro

    16e

2011

  • Transat Jacques Vabre

    Abandon
  • Solo Les Sables

    6e
  • Solitaire du Figaro

    21e

2010

  • Record SNSM

    Vainqueur
  • Route du Rhum (Class40)

    1er
  • Normandy Channel Race (Class40)

    1e

2009

  • Mini Transat

    1e
  • Tour de France à la Voile (Farr30)

    1e
Imoca For People

FOR PEOPLE

  • Architecte : Antoine Koch et Finot-Conq
  • Chantier : 2022, CDK Technologies
  • Date de lancement : 16 Mars 2023
  • Longueur : 18,28 m
  • Tirant d'eau : 4,50 m
  • Hauteur mât : 29 m

Advens est une entreprise française leader de la cybersécurité. Forte de son indépendance et de plus de 400 experts en France et en Europe, elle accompagne les entreprises dans la prévention et la neutralisation des attaques cyber. Mais ce n’est pas sa seule vocation : Advens veut avoir de l’impact sur le monde. Elle construit un modèle d’entreprise engagée qui permet de dédier 50% du capital du groupe Advens au développement et à l'accélération d'initiatives qui visent un impact à grande échelle pour les Hommes et la Planète. 

Leyton est un acteur mondial de référence du conseil en financement. Sa mission, Empower your future, est d’accélérer durablement la performance de chacun pour construire un monde plus responsable. 

Son engagement

We Sail for People and Planet est un collectif d’acteurs engagés, autour de deux voiliers For People et For the Planet et de deux skippers, Thomas Ruyant et Sam Goodchild, qui vise à exploiter la puissance du sport de haut niveau pour accélérer des programmes sociaux et environnementaux concrets et à fort potentiel. 

Association Entourage
 
Entourage, c’est l’esprit start-up au service de l’humain et du vivre-ensemble. En France, plus de 2M de personnes sont aujourd’hui en grande pauvreté et exclues de la société, et 330 000 personnes sont sans domicile. Entourage aide ces personnes à sortir de l'isolement et à retrouver des réseaux de soutien. Pour cela, l’association sensibilise et engage toute la société civile à agir : habitants, entreprises, etc. car elle est convaincue que chacun porte une partie de la solution à l’exclusion. Entourage croit au pouvoir magique de la rencontre entre des mondes et des personnes que tout semble opposer !